Toxic Childhood Stress

$0.00

A pioneering physician reveals how childhood stress leads to lifelong health problems and what we can do to break the cycle.

When a young boy walked into Dr Nadine Burke Harris’s clinic he looked healthy for a preschooler. But he was seven, and hadn’t grown a centimetre since a traumatic event when he was four. At that moment Dr Burke Harris knew that her gut feeling about a connection between childhood stress and future ill health was more than just a hunch – and she began her journey into groundbreaking research with stunning results.

Two thirds of us have experienced at least one adverse childhood experience, from the likes of bereavement and divorce to abuse and neglect. In Toxic Childhood Stress California’s Surgeon General Dr Burke Harris reveals the science behind childhood adversity and offers a new way of understanding the adverse events that affect us throughout our lifetime. Based on her own groundbreaking clinical work and public leadership, Dr Burke Harris shows us how we can disrupt this cycle through interventions that help retrain the brain and body, foster resilience, and help children, families, and adults live healthier, happier lives.

Perfect for fans of The Body Keeps the Score by Bessel van der Kolk, this eye-opening book includes a free ACE test and looks at the widespread crisis of childhood adversity through the objective lens of science and medicine, providing a roadmap for deeper understanding and change.

In stock

Category:
Borrowing a book is easy. Choose a book from the selection below and we will be in contact with you to arrange pickup or delivery by a peer trainer at your current course. Deposit of $10 cash is required, refundable after the book is returned.
Borrowing Terms and Conditions:
·   Borrowing term is two weeks
·   Books can be re-borrowed for a further two weeks upon request if there is no waiting list
·   Books must be collected within 5 days of placing order. Books which fail to be collected will be returned into the library
·   Return date is agreed upon at the time of borrowing
·   If the book is not returned by the due date, the borrower may forfeit their deposit
·   If the book fails to be returned, an invoice for the cost of the book minus the deposit will be issued
·   Books can be collected from either SWSRC Head Office (Level 8, 138 Queen Street Campbelltown NSW 2560) or from your nominated course/workshop (you must be a current SWSRC student to select this option.)
·   You agree to pay a $10 cash deposit at the time of collection

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.